About the Adelaide Protein Group

The Adelaide Protein Group (APG) is a Special Interest Group of the Australian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB). The APG aims to bring together researchers within Adelaide with an interest in protein science. The APG will encourage and promote the formation of networks that will underpin protein science research in Adelaide. It will also provide a teaching and learning environment to help foster the advancement of both emerging and established Adelaide scientists. A copy of the constitution as adopted at the inaugural general meeting can be obtained HERE.

The specific aims of the group are to:

  • Foster interaction and collaboration between protein research groups in Adelaide
  • Facilitate an awareness of research strengths and key research equipment within Adelaide
  • Raise awareness of the ASBMB
  • Create a forum for students and post-doctoral researchers to present their work in an informal atmosphere
  • Facilitate the dissemination and learning of the technical and practical aspects of protein science, and related areas
  • Bring scientists from interstate or overseas to present research findings in the field of protein science

Our regular annual events include the post-graduate ‘Student Awards Event’, the ‘Early Career Researcher Awards’, and our casual end of year ‘Proteins in the Pub’ networking event.

Executive Committee

  • Chairperson: Erin Brazel
  • Treasurer: Kate Wegener
  • Secretary: Winnie Kan
  • Webmaster: Michael Roach
  • Sponsorship officer: Melissa Pitman
  • ASBMB liaison: Melissa Bennett
  • Speaker liaison: Cher-Lynn Soh
  • Promotions: Michael Roach
  • Social Media: Kimberley McLean

Campus Reps:

  • UniSA (East): Steven Polyak
  • UniSA (West): Emma Parkinson-Laurence
  • UniSA (CCB): Winnie Kan
  • SAHMRI (Student rep): Khalia Primer
  • SAHMRI: Luke Grundy
  • Flinders Uni (Biology): Melissa Brown
  • Flinders Uni (Med Centre): Briony Forbes
  • Adelaide Uni: John Bruning
  • Adelaide Uni (Med School): Duyen Pham
  • Waite Campus: Michael Roach